Passage

The first customers entered Saint Petersburg Passage in 1848. At that time this shopping center was practically the only one in Russia. The name Passage originated from the French word passer which means to wander or to walk.

At first the land where modern Passage is located was the property of architect M.G. Zemtsov. The basis of the building was made of three-storied galleries topped with a glass roof. It was constructed according to the example of Golitsinskaya Gallery in Moscow. On the ground floor there were some warehouses while the first and the second floors were occupied with the shops.

Apart from numerous shops Petersburg Passage housed banks, hotels, coffee shops, billiards, an anatomical and wax museums. There were also some workshops in Passage at that time. The block from the side of Italianskaya street hosted big concert hall. In the mid 19th century Petersburg Passage was considered an epicenter of city trade, it organized various lectures, seminars and concerts. In 1901 the first theatre appeared in Passage. During the years of soviet power Passage was closed and reopened in 1922 under the name Universal Passage, as a specific symbol of soviet cooperation success.

Nowadays Passage is an architectural monument and at the same time one of the biggest shopping centers not only in Saint Petersburg but also in the whole country. Annually Passage is visited by more that 10 thousand people. For more than century and a half it has been serving people and carefully preserving traditions of Russian hospitality.

Contact information

Address: 48, Nevskiy Prospekt
Metro: Nevskiy Prospekt
Phone: +7 (812) 312-22-10

Other information

Hours: 10 am - 9 pm
© 2004-2017 TravelPetersburg.com - St Petersburg Airport Transfers, Private Tours, and Tickets. All rights reserved.